Wednesday, June 22, 2022

Book Blitz and Giveaway: Her Dark Reflection (The Dark Reflection Series #1) by Hailey Jade

Title: Her Dark Reflection
Series: The Dark Reflection Series #1
Author: Hailey Jade
Publisher: Midnight Tide Publishing
Publication Date: June 15th 2022
Print Length: 317 pages
Genre: Dark Romantic Fantasy

~
“They called me the Wh*re Queen. Some even called me the Evil Queen. But they could call me whatever they wanted. I was still queen.”

Rhiandra Tiercelin hungers for power and her charm has always been her sharpest weapon in hunting it. So when a brutal attack leaves her physically scarred, desperation drives her to make a deal with Draven, a magic-wielding stranger who is inexplicably compelling and definitely dangerous. She knows she can’t trust him, but he when he offers to make her a queen, the temptation is too enticing to resist.

Armed with a glamoured face and an enchanted apple, Rhiandra is determined to scheme her way into a crown, even if it means risking the deadly punishment for unsanctioned magic use. But Draven is playing a bigger game, and she is just one piece on the board.

Can she keep her wits about her long enough to uncover his secrets, or will he lure her down a path she will come to regret?

Her Dark Reflection is the first book in a new dark romantic fantasy series perfect for fans of Raven Kennedy, Jennifer Armentrout and Sarah A. Parker. If you like cunning, ambitious heroines, morally ambiguous men and romance that toes the line between love and hate, then you’ll love Hailey Jade’s dark reimagining of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves.

Goodreads * Amazon

EXCERPT:
I was twirled from one hand to the next, slightly giddy with drink, trying to guzzle enough to numb the effect of the whispers that followed me wherever I went in the room, but not enough to give them all something more to talk about. The musicians slipped seamlessly from one tune to the next without my notice as I was twirled about by a procession of faces: sober men, kindly men, disapproving men and those who looked on with lechery in their eyes, they all made as much of an impression on me as feathers falling against stone.

I was taking a break to nurse yet another glass of champagne when my hand was captured. I turned to see a head of dark hair bending to kiss it and felt a chill steal over me when my eyes caught on the long fingers gripping me.

‘May I have this next dance?’ asked a voice, deep and dark, burnt toffee and whiskey. A pair of pewter eyes met mine.

Draven didn’t wait for my answer, tugging me after him onto the crowded dance floor. He stopped and drew me up as the song changed, placing one hand lightly on my waist, where it smouldered like an ember as he positioned me.

‘What are you doing here?’ I hissed, my blood rushing so loudly in my ears I could barely hear the music. He had donned the formal tailcoat-waistcoat-trouser ensemble that the courtiers favoured, but he was still dressed entirely in shades of black and charcoal grey. Surprisingly, he didn’t look out of place here in this lavish ballroom, surrounded by people trussed up in the finest jewels and silks and furs that money could buy. I think it had less to do with the actual clothes and more to do with the way he wore them; his belief in his right to be there radiated so strongly from him that anyone looking on simply accepted it.

‘What a greeting for the man who made you queen,’ he said as he began to dance, steering me along as I tried to recover from the shock of seeing him. This past month had dulled my memories, had allowed me to convince myself that I was exaggerating the effect he had on me. With the shadow of a smirk coiling at the corners of his mouth and the slightly smoky scent of him beckoning, his presence was shattering every one of those fragile pretensions. ‘You are currently jeopardising that achievement.’ I stumbled as we spun and began to wish I’d drunk less champagne. It certainly wasn’t helping the feeling of disorientation that was whirling through my head.

He steadied me without missing a beat, his hand slipping lower, his grip a little tighter. ‘You had to have been expecting me. After all, you still have your end of our bargain to uphold, Your Royal Highness.’ The last words were thick with sarcasm, and I scowled at him.

‘I could have you arrested.’ I lashed him with the words, wishing rather than expecting him to respect my new-found power.

His eyes narrowed. ‘Really,’ he drawled, and before I knew what was happening he was spinning me away from the centre of the dancefloor.

I tried pulling myself free as he began to tug me by the hand towards a doorway. ‘Someone will see us!’

‘Not if you cooperate.’

I glanced around uneasily, noting the way the eyes of those around us were conveniently turned in another direction as I caught the sharp, charcoal whiff of gunpowder in the air. Licking my lips, I allowed myself to be dragged along behind him.
---
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Hailey Jade is an Australian who has the audacity to think she might be able to hack it as a writer. Whether this is true or not, she is hoping giving it a red hot go will make the characters who live in her head pipe down long enough for her to get some sleep. She likes creating complicated antiheros, pairing them with heroines who wont be pushed around by any man, sex appeal be damned, and planting them both in worlds touched with magic.

Website * Goodreads * Newsletter * Instagram
---
GIVEAWAY:
Win a $25 Amazon gift card!

(All the Ups and Downs is not responsible for this giveaway, its entries, or the prize. Xpresso Book Tours and the author assume all responsibility over this giveaway.)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

17 comments:

  1. Sounds like an exciting story.

    ReplyDelete
  2. What a fun romantic fantasy. Thank you

    ReplyDelete
  3. David HollingsworthJune 22, 2022 at 4:35 PM

    Sounds like a really sweet book.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I really like this cover. It's definitely eye catching.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I enjoyed reading this excerpt - interests me in this book.
    Thank you for sharing this.

    ReplyDelete
  6. The excerpt is interesting. Thank you for sharing it.

    ReplyDelete
  7. This sounds like an interesting book and I also like the cover.

    abfantom at yahoo dot com

    ReplyDelete
  8. The thunder brought cooler weather.

    ReplyDelete
  9. looks like a fun one

    ReplyDelete
  10. Enjoyed the excerpt. Can't wait to read this.

    ReplyDelete
  11. sounds exciting and love the black and white cover and art, so pretty and definitely stands out!

    ReplyDelete
  12. sweet giveaway..love the cover of this book

    ReplyDelete