Wednesday, June 30, 2021

Book Blast and Giveaway: Unbound (The Witches of Doyle #10) by Kirsten Weiss

Welcome to my stop on the book blast for Unbound by Kirsten Weiss. This book blast was organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. On my stop, I have an excerpt from the book. There's also the tour wide giveaway for a chance to win a $10 Amazon or Barnes & Noble gift card. Be sure to visit the other stops on the book blast for more content. Enjoy!
--
Title: Unbound
Series: The Witches of Doyle #10
Author: Kirsten Weiss
Publisher: misterio press
Publication Date: June 30th 2021
Print Length: 240 pages
Genre: Paranormal Cozy Mystery
~
Three Witches and a Metaphysical Detective…

Riga just wants to mentor three young witches and go home. Doyle witch Jayce wouldn’t take help if it landed on her. But when a man is murdered in front of their eyes, these two must learn to work together. Because a dead man is the least of their worries… Jayce Bonheim loves magic and Doyle, California. But she and her small town have been paying a deadly price for the fairy gate she and her sisters can’t close. Now, a society of dark magicians has returned to town, a deadly winged monster has come through the gate, and an old friend has been murdered. And the new mentor who’s supposed to help Jayce and her sisters seems to have an agenda of her own…

It was supposed to be a simple training gig for Riga Hayworth, not a murder investigation. Still reeling from a tragic mistake in her past, she’s determined to stay retired. But the murder and the town’s magic seem tied together. Can Riga resist the lure of an investigation?

A thrilling and funny paranormal mystery, packed with magic, mystery, and murder. Perfect for fans of Mercy Thompson, Supernatural, and Charlaine Harris.

---
EXCERPT:
“A black lodge in Doyle? Don’t you think you could have led with that?” I had mad respect for Mrs. Steinberg, but honestly. She’d dropped that intel for maximum dramatic effect.

The old lady set down her e-cigarette. “Not a black lodge. The Black Lodge. The one from San Francisco that’s been causing us so much trouble.”

“How do you know?” Riga asked quietly.

The old lady reached into her black handbag on the table and pulled out another square business card. She flung it onto the stained tablecloth. “Because the cheeky devils introduced themselves.”

My sisters and I shared a look.

“I know,” Mrs. Steinberg said. “They walked up to me, bold as brass, and they... and they...”

“They what?” I prompted and glanced at Riga. Why had Mrs. Steinberg hired her? Riga didn’t look that tough. She couldn’t be more than five-six in her low-heeled boots. Her eyes were odd—a sort of browny-purply. What sort of magic did she have?

“They brought flowers.” Mrs. Steinberg bristled. “Irises. My favorite.”

I rolled my eyes. “That does sound intimidating.” Looking at the tablecloth, I grounded myself and extended my senses toward Riga. I felt power, cold and empty. And yes, I know empty doesn’t exactly sound powerful. But hers was the empty of space, vast and deadly and terrifying.

I looked up. Riga was watching me.
---
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Kirsten Weiss has never met a dessert she didn’t like, and her guilty pleasures are watching Ghost Whisperer re-runs and drinking red wine. The latter gives her heartburn, but she drinks it anyway.

Now based in Colorado Springs, CO, she writes genre-blending cozy mystery, supernatural and steampunk suspense, mixing her experiences and imagination to create vivid worlds of fun and enchantment.

If you like funny cozy mysteries, check out her Pie Town, Tea and Tarot, Paranormal Museum, and Wits’ End books.

If you’re looking for some magic with your mystery, give the Witches of Doyle, Riga Hayworth, and Rocky Bridges books a try.

And if you like steampunk, the Sensibility Grey series might be for you.

Kirsten sends out original short stories of mystery and magic to her mailing list. If you’d like to get them delivered straight to your inbox, make sure to sign up for her newsletter.

---
GIVEAWAY:
Kirsten Weiss will be awarding a $10 Amazon or Barnes & Noble gift card to a randomly drawn winner via Rafflecopter. To increase your chance of winning, leave a comment at any stop on the book blast each day. Good luck!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

22 comments:

  1. Looks like an interesting book.
    Thanks for the contest. 

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds like a very good book.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Sounds like a great book. I like the cover.

    ReplyDelete
  4. How long was the writing process?

    ReplyDelete
  5. great cover, congrats on the release

    ReplyDelete
  6. This sounds like an interesting book and I also like the cover.

    abfantom at yahoo dot com

    ReplyDelete
  7. Sounds like a neat mystery book.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I think that the cover of your book is very colorful and highly detailed.

    Nancy
    allibrary (at) aol (dot) com

    ReplyDelete
  9. Love the cover. Thanks for the giveaway.

    ReplyDelete
  10. I love the cover of this book

    ReplyDelete
  11. Do you have any advice for new writers?

    ReplyDelete
  12. Where did you go on your favourite vacation?

    ReplyDelete
  13. Thank you for the giveaway. Sounds like a good read.

    ReplyDelete
  14. LAST DAY
    Thanks for the contest.

    ReplyDelete
  15. The Paranormal Mystery sound so fun to read and I like the cover.

    ReplyDelete