Thursday, February 18, 2021

Book Blast and Giveaway - War of the Squirrels: A Doyle Cozy Mystery (A Wits' End Cozy Mystery #4) by Kirsten Weiss

Welcome to my stop on the book blast for War of the Squirrels by Kirsten Weiss. This book blast was organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. On my stop, I have an excerpt from the book. There's also a tour wide giveaway for a chance to win a paperback of the book and some great swag. Be sure to visit the other stops on the book blast for more content. Enjoy!
--
Title: War of the Squirrels: A Doyle Cozy Mystery
Series: A Wits' End Cozy Mystery #4
Author: Kirsten Weiss
Publisher: Misterio Press
Publication Date: February 18th 2021
Print Length: 207 pages
Genre: Cozy Mystery
~
Helicopter parents, suspicious squirrels… and murder.

All Susan wants is to get through this visit from her controlling parents without tumbling down a black hole of despair. But galactic forces are colliding at her whimsical B&B, Wits’ End, and her parents have plans of their own.

When two men die on the same day, both mysterious deaths are tied to her mom and dad. Meanwhile, a squirrel scofflaw is riling up the tiny mountain town of Doyle, and Susan realizes she’s the only person who can stop the madness. And if this B&B owner can’t put these crimes to rest fast, her carefully organized life may come crashing to earth.

This fast-paced and funny cozy mystery is book four in the Wits’ End series. Packed with quirky characters, small town charm, and murder, it’s perfect for fans of Jana Deleon, Tricia O’Malley, and Charlaine Harris.

Buy War of the Squirrels and start this hilarious caper today.

---
EXCERPT:
As if my fingers were far, far away, I felt my hands loosen. I dimly heard my cleaning bucket of brushes and other supplies thud to the carpet in room seven.

Bailey howled and raced from the room, his ears flapping. And who could blame him? The room itself seemed to revolt at the scene. Even the faked pie-tin UFO photo hung at an awkward angle above the rumpled bed.

Early evening shadows knifed across my mother’s sensible shoes. She sat in a vintage wing chair in one corner of the room. “Shut the door,” she commanded and removed the clip from a Russian pistol.

Automatically, I obeyed.

Mouth slack, I backed against the door. “You... That’s...” My breath came in quick gasps. Dots swam in front of my eyes. This wasn’t my first body in the B&B. But…

The leg slipped in my father’s grip, the shoe inching closer to his shoulder.

Briefly, I wondered if this was what lost time felt like, this sense of being out of phase, outside ordinary reality. Unthinking, I groped for my day planner. But of course it wasn’t there. I didn’t carry it around when I cleaned.

Should I?
---
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Kirsten Weiss has never met a dessert she didn’t like, and her guilty pleasures are watching Ghost Whisperer re-runs and drinking red wine. The latter gives her heartburn, but she drinks it anyway.

Now based in Colorado Springs, CO, she writes genre-blending cozy mystery, supernatural and steampunk suspense, mixing her experiences and imagination to create vivid worlds of fun and enchantment.

If you like funny cozy mysteries, check out her Pie Town, Tea and Tarot, Paranormal Museum, and Wits’ End books.

If you’re looking for some magic with your mystery, give the Witches of Doyle, Riga Hayworth, and Rocky Bridges books a try.

And if you like steampunk, the Sensibility Grey series might be for you.

Kirsten sends out original short stories of mystery and magic to her mailing list. If you’d like to get them delivered straight to your inbox, make sure to sign up for her newsletter.

---
GIVEAWAY:
Kirsten Weiss will be awarding a signed paperback of War of the Squirrels, an "Ever Vigilant" squirrel notepad, a squirrel wish bracelet, and a squirrel black baseball cap to a randomly drawn winner via Rafflecopter. Good luck!
(US only)
a Rafflecopter giveaway

11 comments:

  1. Thank you for hosting the War of the Squirrels Giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This sounds like a very good book.

    ReplyDelete
  3. This looks like such a fun read with lots of different angles.. I love the cover as well.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Cozy mysteries are some of my favorites. This one looks cute!

    ReplyDelete
  5. This book looks like a unique, fun, and enjoyable read for a cold winter's day.

    Nancy
    allibrary (at) aol (dot) com

    ReplyDelete
  6. I love the cover and this books sounds awesome!

    ReplyDelete
  7. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete