Saturday, August 1, 2020

Book Blog Tour and Giveaway: Enemies of Doves by Shanessa Gluhm

ENEMIES OF DOVES
by
Shanessa Gluhm

Genres: Historical Fiction / Mystery
Publisher: TouchPoint Press
Publication Date: March 20, 2020
Number of Pages: 324 pages

Scroll down for the giveaway!
Told in alternating timelines from World War II to 1992, debut author Shanessa Gluhm's Enemies of Doves is a tale of family secrets, jealousy, and deception perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Katherine Webb.

On a summer night in 1932, twelve-year-old Joel Fitchett wanders into an East Texas diner badly beaten and carrying his unconscious brother, Clancy. Though both boys claim they have no memory of what happened, the horrific details are etched into their minds as deep as the scar left across Joel's face.

Thirteen years later, both men still struggle with the aftershocks of that long-ago night and the pact they made to hide the truth. When they find themselves at the center of a murder investigation, they make a decision that will change everything. A second lie, a second pact, and, for a time, a second chance. In 1991 college student Garrison Stark travels to Texas chasing a rumor that Clancy Fitchett is his biological grandfather. Clancy has been missing since 1946, and Garrison hopes to find him and, in doing so, find a family. What he doesn't expect to discover is a tangle of secrets spanning sixty years involving Clancy, Joel, and the woman they both loved, Lorraine.

---
---
PRAISE FOR ENEMIES OF DOVES:

"Enemies of Doves weaves a timeline of events that makes for compelling reading. It's an ecological system of interlocking decisions, discoveries, and circumstances that spans some sixty years of love, danger, and revelations." —D. Donovan, senior reviewer, Midwest Book Review


I’ve read some amazing thriller and suspense stories this year, but Enemies of Doves takes the mid-year prize. I’m not one for dual timelines, but this one was perfection with the fifty-year time-span moving forward in tandem. Garrison’s search will cause time to collide, unlocking a lifetime of secrets, and THE PLOT TWIST OF 2020!—author Felicia Denise

Shanessa Gluhm is a brilliant writer. I very seldom read a book that I cannot figure out how it will end, but this one literally blew me away!—Lori Thomas Harrington, author of The Point
Shanessa Gluhm works as a librarian at an elementary school in New Mexico, where she lives with her husband and children. It was during her own elementary days when a teacher encouraged Shanessa to write and share stories with the class. She hasn’t stopped writing since. Enemies of Doves is her debut novel. 




- How has Texas influenced your writing?
Though I live right on the border of Texas and New Mexico, I opted to set my novel in East Texas. Growing up, I spent my childhood summers there, visiting my grandparents. Though they moved from East Texas when I was sixteen, I can still remember some details of the area so vividly. Setting my book there was a way to revisit those memories.

- Which character from your book is most like you?
I feel Garrison is most like me. We are both close to our families, sentimental, and determined. If I had been a boy, I would be named Garrison. I wrote him as an astronomy student as a nod to my dad who has always been interested in space.

- Did you first experience rejections when submitting this manuscript for publication?
Oh yes. Counting the agents who never responded, Enemies of Doves was rejected sixty-four times. It's just such a subjective business. One day I got a rejection that basically said, "I love your writing style, but this story will never sell in today's market.” A little over a week later I got one that said, "This is a well-thought-out story with a great twist. I have no doubt it would sell if written by a more experienced writer." I learned a lot from that process and from the rejections. The most important lesson I learned was not to give up. Because, as it turns out, sixty-five was my lucky number.

- What do you think most characterizes your writing?
Every author has strengths and weaknesses. I think my strength lies in character development. Reviews seem to confirm this, and that makes me incredibly proud, as I spend a lot of time carving out my characters before I ever write the first draft.

- What does your perfect writing spot look like? Is that what your ACTUAL writing spot looks like?
I’d love to have a screened-in back porch where I could go to write. Right now, I do all my writing at a small desk in the living room. Until my kids start moving out, that may have to do. I actually wrote almost all of Enemies of Doves on the various park benches across my hometown. My son was a toddler, and the only time I could write was at the park while he was playing.

- What projects are you working on at the present?
I’m working on my second novel, tentatively titled A River of Crows. It’s the story of a woman searching for the truth about what happened to her brother who disappeared when they were children. You can learn more about it on my blog!
---
GIVEAWAY:
Win a $20 Amazon gift card and a signed copy of Enemies of Doves by Shanessa Gluhm or an eBook of Enemies of Doves - two winners!
JULY 28-August 7, 2020
(US ONLY)

FOR DIRECT LINKS TO EACH POST ON THIS TOUR, UPDATED DAILY, 
or visit the blogs directly:

7/28/20
Playlist
7/28/20
BONUS Post
7/29/20
Top Ten List
7/30/20
Review
7/31/20
Review
8/1/20
Author Interview
8/2/20
Scrapbook Page
8/3/20
Review
8/4/20
Deleted Scene
8/5/20
Review
8/6/20
Review

   blog tour services provided by
  

3 comments:

  1. Thank you, Heather, for being a part of the blog tour. I appreciate you!

    ReplyDelete
  2. It sounds really intriguing. Looking forward to reading. Thanks for being an author and sharing your stories with the world.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Loved this book so much, and loved this interview! Thanks so much for sharing, and how exciting to hear she has a new book in the works already :D

    ReplyDelete