Wednesday, December 11, 2019

Excerpt Tour and Giveaway: In Between Days by Anne Jamison

Welcome to my stop on the excerpt tour for In Between Days by Anne Jamison. This tour was organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. On my stop, I have an exclusive excerpt for you as well as the tour wide giveaway for a chance to win a $25 Amazon or Barnes & Noble gift card. Be sure to follow the rest of the tour for more exclusive excerpts. Enjoy!
--
Title: In Between Days
Author: Anne Jamison
Publication Date: September 11th 2019
Print Length: 330 pages
Genres: Coming of Age, Young Adult
~
Chicago suburbs, 1985. The high school. The mall. The blood-stained Mercedes. Misogyny. Homophobia. Class warfare. Cocaine.

(And the first semester isn’t even over yet.)

The Jocks with their pastel Izods. The Barbies. The loser Burnouts.

High school in the 1980s had rules. Barbies and Jocks can mix. Barbie cheerleaders steer clear of the losers. Punks want to burn it all down.

Samantha Ward doesn't love the rules, but she plays to win. So when a snarky Burnout goes after her in a face-off, of course she fights back. Of course she fights mean. She may not get his sex joke, but she knows he made one. About her. In front of the entire cafeteria. And what's worse, she feels a tingle when she looks at bad-boy Jason.

How could she know her mean girl put-down would launch a war? Or that the school she knows hides a darker world she never even dreamed of?

In Between Days is a pitch-perfect story of first love, friendship, and enemies; of loyalty, betrayal, and the power of secrets. This darkly funny, suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of The Outsiders and The Breakfast Club.

Author's Note: This is a historical novel that contains period language that is, and was then, and should be, offensive.

---
EXCERPT:
Slam thud. The familiar sound of boy against locker. But who’d be fighting right around the corner from the principal’s office? Guys were so stupid.

But as Samantha started paying attention to the yelling, she wasn’t so sure she had it right.

“I’m telling you, I didn’t do anything. I didn’t do anything in that class except the f*cking homework!”

“You watch that mouth, punk, or I’ll give you a reason to watch it. Now for the last time, what was that knife in class for?”

”I didn’t have a knife in class. Talk to anyone. It’s not my knife.”

“Right, I should talk to anyone because they’ll know what knife you do carry?”

“F*CK NO! Because everyone knows I don’t carry a f*cking knife. I don’t need to, I know how to fight, all right?”

“You’d like to show me that, wouldn’t you, punk? Tell me. Tell me what you wanna do to me. Go ahead.”

“Make your f*ckin’ day, Clint?”

Slam thud. The voice was much lower now, but the way the empty hall carried sound, Samantha could hear it. She definitely wasn’t supposed to.

“You listen to me. You mean nothing here, ok? No one cares. You don’t matter to a single person who matters. Your teachers can’t stand you, and most of the kids can’t either. Some of them are just too scared of you to let you know, and that’s who you call your friends. Your own mother can barely give you the time of day from what I hear. If you get roughed up a little, no one’s gonna weep about it. So watch yourself.”

“You leave my mother out of this. This has nothing to do with her!”

“Who said it did? Get off your high horse.” The voice was louder again. Much louder. “No one’s saying anything about anyone’s momma, okay? Your problem is you’re getting booted from sixth-period history. And you can’t graduate without another two years of Social Studies because you were booted last year, too. And now, we have a frightened teacher, a knife, and you, punk, in between them.”

“I wasn’t anywhere near that desk when that knife showed up, people saw it! I mean, not just my friends. People you count as people.”

Silence.

Then, with less toughness, the teen voice continued. “Just get me into a different class. I don’t wanna flunk out, I’m doing the work. But I’m not eating some bullsh*t knife charge.”

Samantha flinched. No one’s voice should sound like that. No one would want her to hear it.

With the heavy footfalls of someone being pushed, Jason Devlin rounded the corner, shoved down the hall by their Sherman tank of a Vice Principal in Charge of Discipline, Anthony Stagnita. Mr. Stagnita had Jason by the coat collar, which was a little funny-looking because Jason was about six inches taller. The looks on both their faces made it less funny.
---
PRAISE FOR IN BETWEEN DAYS:
"GRIPPING AND UNPUTDOWNABLE." --Christina Lauren, international bestselling authors of Dating You/Hating You

THIS WAS a bittersweet tumble into eighties high school nostalgia, with all the angst, sexual tension and emotional confusion involved with first love, and so well done it was a non-stop read to the end.… (Oh, and one of the best first kisses I have EVER read...),” says one reviewer
---
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Anne Jamison is the author of three critical books, including Fic: Why Fanfiction is Taking Over the World. She lives in Salt Lake City with her dogs, her son, and an avant-garde poet. She is an English professor, but not the kind that corrects your grammar (unless she is actively grading your paper). In Between Days is her first novel.

---
GIVEAWAY:
Anne Jamison will be awarding a $25 Amazon or Barnes & Noble gift card to a randomly drawn winner via Rafflecopter after the tour. To increase your chance of winning, leave a comment at a different stop on the tour each day. Good luck!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

32 comments:

  1. Good morning from Utah! Thank you so much for hosting.

    ReplyDelete
  2. How many books do you write in a year?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've never written more than one in a year, but the one I'm working on now is going faster. The other kinds of books I write are much slower going, more research, lots of citation.

      Delete
  3. It sounds like a great read. Thanks for sharing it.

    ReplyDelete
  4. The book sounds interesting, happy holidays.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I appreciate that! and happy holidays to you, too :)

      Delete
  5. Thanks so much for sharing a book description and giveaway also. Sounds great!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Barbies! I haven't heard that term in a long time. The excerpt was good and the book sounds like a great read. Thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, they were a thing. It's funny, it's not autobiographical, but writing it brought up so many details. Somewhere there's a mention of a makeup tip from Seventeen magazine that I clearly remember trying (and failing) to pull off more than once.

      Delete
  7. New author to me. Sounds like a great read. Adding to my TBR list.

    ReplyDelete
  8. looks like a fun one

    ReplyDelete
  9. The book is about bullies in school? Not much has changed since my High school days of the late 1970's- has it? The Liberal media want us to think it has, though.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hah! It is about bullies in school! but in 1985 :) I think today, the groups are a bit different, the pressures are different--all the phones and social media. Still, groups and bullying aren't going anywhere.

      Delete
  10. Can't wait to read this!

    ReplyDelete