Friday, November 2, 2018

Book Tour and Giveaway: Time For Alexander Series by Jennifer Macaire

The Road to Alexander
Time For Alexander Book 1
by
Jennifer Macaire

Genre:
Paranormal Romance, Time Travel
Sex, love, war, & quite a bit of vino - it's a Greek myth come to life...

Ashley is a time-travel journalist who has fought to prove herself in a world that that believes her road in life was paved by her parents' fortune. After winning a prestigious award, she is selected to travel through time and interview a historical figure. Choosing her childhood hero, Alexander the Great, she voyages back in time for less than a day to interview a man whose legend has survived to the present day. He mistakes her for Persephone, goddess of the dead, and kidnaps her. Stranded in the past, cold and aloof Ashley has to learn to befriend, to trust...and to love.

Join Ashley and Alexander the Great on their fabulous adventure. Fans of Diana Gabaldon, Jodi Taylor, and Diana Norman will enjoy this saga.
---
Praise for The Road to Alexander:
"If you are a fan of Diana Gabaldon and her Outlander Series then you will love this story. The same heart wrenching trials and tribulations that she puts her characters through happen within this gripping tale." Lynda Warnock

"Fun, sexy and at times incredibly sad, the story held me to the end and the research was incredible." Karen King, author.

"If you love Time travel books then this one is not to be missed. Totally engrossing!!!!" Amazon reviewer.

"A Time for Alexander is a wonderful moving saga. Really more of a historical piece than a romance, there is more than enough heat between Alexander and Ashley to keep the pages smoldering." Goodreads.

"...A delightful read, I'm looking forward to the next book in the series." Amazon Reviewer.

"I found an engaging and light read, fun at times with some beautiful descriptive scenes of the cities, the landscape and life in the vast and growing empire of Alexander the Great in 333 - 330 BC." Amazon Reviewer.

"From the first page, I was intrigued by this story." Conan Tigard

"There wasn’t a piece of this book that didn’t fit, it kept a quick pace, the dialogue was witty and entertaining and the beautiful descriptions of ancient lands entice you into accompanying them on Alexander’s quest to conquer the world." Goodreads

---
Legends of Persia
Time For Alexander Book 2
When Ashley Riveraine jumped at the chance to travel back in time to meet her hero Alexander the Great, she never thought she would end up staying there…

Following Alexander the Great’s army on its journey across Persia, Ashley is walking the knife edge of history. As a presumed goddess, Ashley is expected to bless crops, make sure battles are won and somehow keep herself out of the history books.

Can Ashley avoid the wrath of the Time Institute while keeping the man she loves alive?

---
Son of the Moon
Time For Alexander Book 3
Can you face the consequences of cheating the Fates?

Alexander the Great journeys to India, where he and Ashley are welcomed with feasts and treachery.

With their son, Paul, being worshiped as the Son of the Moon, and Alexander’s looming death, Ashley considers the unthinkable: how to save them and whether she dares to cheat Fate?

---
Storms Over Babylon
Time For Alexander Book 4
From the scorching plains of Persia to the opulent city of Babylon, Ashley and Alexander continue their sensuous and passionate journey through history.

Alexander the Great is now king of Persia and Greece – but his reign will be short.

Time-travelling Ashley knows when her husband will die. She’s determined to cheat Fate and save Alexander and her children, even if it brings the gates of time crashing down.

Following Alexander on a tour of his new kingdom, she plans her moves and bides her time. She must, however, convince Alexander to abandon his crown and his kingdom.

---
Chants to Persephone
Time For Alexander Book 5
In the fifth book in the Time For Alexander series, the Oracle of Amon tells Alexander he must go to the Land of Ice and Snow, so they leave their home in Alexandria and head north, to Gaul.

But the Thief of Souls not only captured Alexander’s soul. He also wants Paul, and the druids have raised an army to capture him. In the heart of winter, in ancient Gaul, a terrible sacrifice is made to Persephone, goddess of the Underworld – and Ashley finds herself taking part in a deadly ceremony.

Jennifer Macaire is an American living in Paris. She likes to read, eat chocolate, and plays a mean game of golf. She grew up in upstate New York, Samoa, and the Virgin Islands. She graduated from St Peter and Paul High School in St Thomas and moved to NYC where she modelled for five years for Elite. She went to France and met her husband at the polo club. All that is true. But she mostly likes to make up stories..

Musing about muses

It’s winter, the equinox has passed, and now the days are getting longer. I sacrificed a bar of chocolate upon the altar of Persephone to welcome the rebirth of a new year. Actually, I’ve been knee-deep in edits, on the phone with my incredible editor every day, debating on where to put commas (actually there is no debate, she says “put one there” and I put); finding typos (if she says “put” and I putt, I expect my readers will be confused); untangling complicated sentences (no one wants to spend five minutes figuring out who is saying what about what); and generally smoothing out the books in the series. Let us sacrifice another bar of chocolate to the nine muses, who help us in our artistic creations. In ancient days, the muses were invoked by the artist to help him. For example:

Homer in The Iliad begins many of his stanzas by invoking the muses to help him tell the tale: “Tell me now, Muses who have homes on Olympus...”

The first lines of The Iliad invokes the muses: “Sing, O goddess, the destructive wrath of Achilles, son of Peleus, which brought countless woes upon the Greeks, and hurled many valiant souls of heroes down to Hades…”

And in The Odyssey, “Sing in me, Muse, and through me tell the story of that man skilled in all ways of contending, the wanderer, harried for years on end, after he plundered the stronghold on the proud height of Troy.”

We say we’ve “lost our muse” when we can’t create, we muse, are amused, bemused, and we go to museums. Museum is from Greek mouseion “place of study, library”, originally “a seat or shrine of the Muses,” from Mousa “Muse”.

Here are the nine muses, and the art they represent:

Thalia (“The Cheerful One”) was the Muse of Comedy;
Urania (“The Heavenly One”) was the Muse of Astronomy, and you can often see her holding a globe;
Melpomene (“She Who Sings”) was the Muse of Tragedy;
Polyhymnia (“She of the Many Hymns”) was the Muse of Hymns and sacred poetry;
Erato (“The Lovely One”) was the Muse of Lyric Poetry;
Calliope (“The One with a Beautiful Voice”) was the Muse of Epic Poetry; Hesiod claims that she was the foremost among the nine, since “she attends on worshipful princes”;
Clio (“The Celebrator,”) was the Muse of History;
Euterpe (“She Who Pleases”), was the Muse of Flute-playing;
Terpsichore (“The One Delighting in the Dance”), was the Muse of Choral Lyric and Dancing.

A word to remember the names of the Muses uses the first letters from their names: TUM PECCET, which Latin students everywhere know means 'He (who) sins (makes a mistake), will sin (make a mistake)', but as a pun can mean, 'If you get it wrong, you'll make a mistake', meaning that if you can remember TUM PECCET, you can't forget the names of the muses!

The Muses may have had Mnemosyne, the goddess of Memory, as their mother-however, their mission was to make people forget their sorrows and cares. Even now, when we're feeling blue, art and music can lift our spirits. Let's sacrifice another bar of chocolate to the muses!
Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts, guest posts and a giveaway!

24 comments:

  1. All the books sound exciting I guess my favorite would be Storms over Babylon. My question for the author is where do you get your ideas for your books.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Darlene, thank you! I'm a history nut, I love ancient history, so most of my ideas come from that - otherwise, I think I have an overactive imagination. :-)

      Delete
  2. The books sound good can't wait to read them.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Replies
    1. Thanks! Me too! I was so happy when my publisher came up with the idea!

      Delete
  4. Renee Collins (google account)November 2, 2018 at 8:28 PM

    I love these covers!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I love the covers. The colors are beautiful.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. :-) thank you - I'll let my publisher know - she picked them out!

      Delete
  6. All of the covers look good, somewhat telling of the book or rather inviting the reader in. The blurbs are what hook me though.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I love the covers. I have several of these books. Love them

    ReplyDelete
  8. I like the covers of the Time For Alexander Series. The best part is their cohesiveness with each other allowing readers to easily find another book in the series.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I like the covers, I like that they're all similar.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Son of the Moon has the best cover.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I like the covers-favorite would be Storms Over Babylon

    tiramisu392 (at) yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  12. I like the book cover and the book sounds interesting, Thanks.

    ReplyDelete
  13. I like all the covers. The books sound interesting.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Thank you for all your comments! I truly appreciate the kind words. I hope you enjoy the series!

    ReplyDelete
  15. Thanks for the great giveaway!
    I would really like to read this book!

    ReplyDelete
  16. Such a cool premise, being a time-traveling journalist. Could you imagine if such a thing were real?! SO fun to think about!

    ReplyDelete
  17. Great covers! I like the Son of the Moon the best

    ReplyDelete